Looking at the 2011 Chevrolet Cruze

Vehicle Highlights

General Motor’s volume compact car division used to have the Chevrolet Cobalt, but this model year of 2011 the Chevrolet Cruze takes the former’s place.

Chevrolet’s brand new compact is a 4-door sedan which has four different trim levels. These include the Eco trim level as well as the LS, LT, and LTZ trim levels. The Eco trim level is a fuel-economy-oriented type, which is why it is called “Eco”. Each one of these trim level have their own distinctions as well.

2011 Chevrolet Cruze Looking at the 2011 Chevrolet Cruze

The LT models are further classified into 1LT and 2LT. The LS trim, on the other hand, is powered by a 136 hp 1.8 liter 4-cylinder engine. The trim levels 1LT, 2LT, LTZ, and the Eco all run on a 138 hp 1.4 liter 4-cylinder engine.

The Eco and LS trim levels use as their standard a 6-speed manual transmission, but you can opt for an automatic 6-speed transmission. This 6-speed automatic transmission, however, is the standard equip for the LTZ and LT trim levels.

The Cruze also has a couple of available safety features. The antilock brake system, also known as ABS, makes sure that the wheels don’t get locked when the brakes are used. The system releases the brake pressure when this happens so that the wheel can go on moving.

Traction control maintains that much needed traction for the vehicle. Traction will be needed in almost all cases, especially when accelerating and making sharp turns. It prevents the vehicle from losing its grip, which would cause skidding.

While traction control prevents skidding, the antiskid system acts when it occurs. It does so by applying brakes with the help of the ABS so that the vehicle doesn’t get thrown off course.

Airbags are also available on almost all parts of the car. Front-side airbags protect the passengers in front, including the driver. Rear-side airbags protect passengers from hitting the back part of the car. Curtain-side airbags, on the other hand, protect all passengers from hitting any of the windows. There are also airbags for the front-knee level.

What distinguishes the Cruze models with the Eco trim level are their tires that have incredibly low roll resistance as well as the tweaking on the aerodynamics that was designed to help economize the vehicle’s fuel.

Depending on the trim level, there are special packages that are available. The LTZ and LT trim levels have the RS Appearance Package. This is composed of an interior trim that’s specific and fog lights.

The LTZ and 2LT trims, on the other hand, have a set of standard features including heated front seats, wireless cell phone link, leather upholstery, and remote engine start.

Unique to the Cruze’s LTZ trim level is the sport suspension feature.

Obstacle detection for the rear is available for both the LTZ and LT trim levels, but it’s standard for LTZ and only optional for LT.

Further Readings:

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print this article!
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google
  • Propeller
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Fark
  • Furl
  • Live
  • Slashdot
  • SphereIt
  • Technorati

Related posts:

  1. Looking at the 2011 Chevrolet Impala
  2. 2011 Chevrolet Cruze US Specs and Options
  3. New Chevrolet Cruze Priced From $16,995
  4. Chevrolet Cruze VCDi
  5. Looking at the 2011 Chevrolet Malibu

Filed Under: Car Brands


RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.